Fries With Vegan Nacho Cheese Are Coming to Taco Bells Nationwide


Sep. 28 2023, Published 1:54 p.m. ET

Taco Bell Nacho Fries being dipped in Vegan Nacho Sauce.
Source: Taco Bell

The Gist:

  • Taco Bell is introducing Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Sauce to its menu on Oct. 12, 2023.
  • Taco Bell is a vegetarian and vegan-friendly fast food chain.
  • Taco Bell did a limited release of a Vegan Crunchwrap in June 2023.
Article continues below advertisement

Taco Bell is a pretty vegan and vegetarian-friendly fast food chain. In June 2023, they did a test run for the first vegan menu item, the Vegan Crunchwrap. The Vegan Crunchwrap was similar to their Crunchwrap Supreme but made with proprietary plant-based products instead. However, it was only offered at limited locations for a limited time despite a flood of glowing reviews.

On Oct. 12, 2023, Taco Bell will introduce Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Sauce. While the menu item will only be available for a limited time, vegans nationwide can try it and see how it matches up against their favorite vegan nacho cheese. Here's what you need to know about this exciting new menu item.

Article continues below advertisement
The outside sign of a Taco Bell restaurant.
Source: Getty Images

Taco Bell is launching nacho fries with vegan cheese.

The launch of the new vegan menu item coincides with Taco Bell bringing back its popular Nacho Fries, which will be available in restaurants starting on Sept. 28, 2023. The Nacho Fries are a limited-time menu item the fast food chain has “brought back” several times in recent years.

Article continues below advertisement

Vegans must wait until Oct. 12 to get their Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Sauce. According to a press release by Taco Bell, the Vegan Nacho Sauce is made with a chickpea and soy base and is certified vegan by the American Vegetarian Association.

If you were lucky enough to try the Vegan Crunchwrap, you'll probably recognize the nacho sauce! The restaurant confirmed the Vegan Nacho Sauce is the same sauce Taco Bell used on its Vegan Crunchwrap.

“This sauce, born from the success of our Vegan Crunchwrap, represents Taco Bell’s commitment to providing delicious, crave-able food for a variety of lifestyles – whether you’re vegan, flexitarian or want to try something new, there’s a place for you at our table,“ said Liz Matthews, global chief food innovation officer at Taco Bell, in a press release.

Article continues below advertisement
Taco Bell Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Cheese
Source: Taco Bell

Taco Bell estimates that 23 percent of the products sold in 2022 were its vegetarian-friendly menu items, like the Bean Burrito, Fiesta Veggie Burrito, Black Bean Chalupa Supreme, Black Been Crunchwrap Supreme, and Veggie Mexican Pizza.

Article continues below advertisement

Taco Bell defines “vegan” as those without animal ingredients. However, in full disclosure, the company admits there may be cross-contact with meat products at some of its restaurants that use the same frying oil. While this isn’t a concern with the Vegan Nacho Sauce, it may be with the Nacho Fries.

Article continues below advertisement

Vegans have been able to eat certain long-standing Taco Bell favorites for years by customizing their order as “Fresco Style” to leave out meat and dairy products. The fast food chain’s refried beans aren’t made with lard, so they are OK for vegans to eat.

How to try Taco Bell's Nacho Fries with vegan cheese:

If you want to try Taco Bell’s Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Sauce, you can get them at any Taco Bell in the U.S. after Oct. 12, 2023. The menu item will come in two sizes: regular for $2.19 and a new large size for $2.99. The Nacho Fries with Vegan Nacho Sauce will be available while supplies last.

More from Green Matters

Latest Plant-Based Diets News and Updates

    Opt-out of personalized ads

    © Copyright 2024 Green Matters. Green Matters is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.