subway-sandwich-vegan-2-1605301012944.jpg
Source: iStock

Vegan Options at Subway: How to Order a Plant-Based Sandwich

By

Updated

When you order either vegetarian or vegan at Subway, the Sandwich Artist may look at you funny and ask, “No meat?!” But trust us, it’s a reaction (and a facial expression) you get used to after a few years of eating plant based. Hilarious reaction aside, it is totally possible to eat vegan at Subway. You just have to know what to order.

Keep reading for tips on how to eat vegan at Subway!

Article continues below advertisement

Subway's Veggie Delite is completely vegan.

subway-sandwich-vegan-1605301167669.jpg
Source: iStock

All U.S. subway locations offer one fully vegan sandwich: the Veggie Delite, which consists of raw lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, and red onions on 9-grain wheat bread. That's the only pre-designed, fully-vegan menu item on Subway's U.S. menus — but there are plenty of other ways to eat vegan at Subway. 

Article continues below advertisement

Does Subway do vegan cheese?

subway-bread-1605301222430.jpg
Source: iStock

As of right now in the U.S., Subway does not offer a vegan cheese option. 

However, if you’re eating fresh (and vegan) over in the U.K., you have a few more options. According to LiveKindly, U.K. Subways not only offer dairy-free cheese, but they also have Cheese Toasted Bites, which can be made vegan with non-dairy cheese by request.

Article continues below advertisement

You can also find the Vegan Signature Wrap at all U.K. locations. The wrap features garlic aioli which is both dairy- and egg-free and is made sans cheese.

Article continues below advertisement

Similarly, Brazil has a completely vegan Subway sandwich option, which is made with dairy-free cheese. 

Article continues below advertisement

How much is a vegan Subway sandwich?

Subways throughout the U.S. and Canada have partnered with Beyond Meat to bring plant-based eaters the Meatless Meatball Marinara, featuring plant-based meatballs, marinara sauce, and parmesan cheese (which can be omitted to make the sandwich vegan). The Meatless Meatball Marinara sub costs about $5.50, comparable to your standard Meatball Marinara.

Article continues below advertisement

Which bread is vegan at Subway?

Luckily for vegans, there are several vegan bread options available at Subway. These include the 9-grain wheat bread, hearty Italian bread, Italian (white) bread, roasted garlic bread, sourdough bread, spinach wrap, tomato basil wrap, habanero wrap, and the wheat wrap. Each of these bread choices are made without any animal byproducts at all.

Article continues below advertisement

Unfortunately, there are a few bread options vegans should steer clear of. These include the croissant and English muffin, so we guess breakfast subs are out of the question.

Article continues below advertisement

Is Subway falafel vegan?

The falafel at Subway is in fact vegan. However, the falafel is not available at every Subway location. And while the falafel itself contains no dairy-derived ingredients, it is often advertised by being paired with a cucumber-based sauce that features dairy.

Article continues below advertisement

What is Subway's Vegan Patty made of?

As of right now, the Vegan Patty is only available at U.K. Subway locations. Though it’s not yet available in the U.S., most U.S. locations do offer the Veggie Patty, which is unfortunately only vegetarian.

Article continues below advertisement

The U.K.'s vegan patty features the same main blend of mushrooms, water chestnuts, carrots, capsicum, black olives, and textured vegetable protein that the original Veggie Patty does. Because the veggie patty contains the milk-derived ingredient calcium caseinate, it’s safe to assume that the U.K.’s vegan version is made sans calcium caseinate.

Article continues below advertisement

In the U.S., the Subway Veggie Patty has 360 calories, 2.5 grams of saturated fat, 47 grams of carbohydrates, and 22 grams of protein. Its ingredients include wheat gluten, soy flour, water chestnuts, onions, carrots, cooked brown rice, mushroom, egg whites, and the milk-derived calcium caseinate, the latter two of which make the patty an unsuitable option for vegans.

Article continues below advertisement

Subway seems to have better options abroad.

Depending on the location of your Subway, vegans have several options while eating at this fast-food joint. In some limited locations — particularly not in the U.S. — vegans have the option of ordering Cheese Toasted Bites made with non-dairy cheese, the vegan falafel, the Malibu Greek sub (a falafel-esque patty paired with finely chopped veggies), the Italian Black Bean sub (a spicy black bean veggie patty on a sub), and the Sweet Riblet sub (a BBQ-sauce, plant-based “riblet”).

Article continues below advertisement

But at select locations in the U.S., customers can get the Meatless Meatball Marinara sub made with Beyond Meat — just ask for no cheese to make it vegan.

Article continues below advertisement

Here's how to order vegan at Subway.

If you'd like to design a vegan sandwich from scratch at Subway, here's how to order.

As mentioned above, many of the breads at Subway are vegan, so start out by selecting your bread.

Fortunately, all the raw veggie fillings at the Subway sandwich station are vegan, including shredded lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers, red onions, cucumbers, spinach, olives, pickles, jalapeños, and avocado. Guacamole, which is available at limited locations, is also a vegan sandwich filling.

Article continues below advertisement

Then, add your sauce. If you’re still wondering which sauces and dressings at Subway are vegan, you have a few to choose from, thankfully. These vegan dressings and sauces include yellow mustard, deli brown mustard, mustard seed spread, oil and vinegar, Subway vinaigrette, sweet onion sauce, and fat-free Italian dressing.

Article continues below advertisement

Other vegan options available at Subway include the black bean soup, which is available at select locations. There are also packaged snacks, like apple slices and chips.

Advertisement
More from Green Matters

More From Green Matters